Dogs and Pedicures

Standard

Harriett likes to lick my feet. She does it  pretty much every night, when I lie down in bed and start reading. She runs down to the end of the bed and licks my feet. She’s really thorough, too. If she really is into it, she’ll even use her teeth on the calluses on my heels. It’s probably weird that I enjoy this, but I do. And how cool is it that I have a dog that does pedicures, right?

I found out about dog nail polish last week. Who knew, there are actually multiple companies that make nail polish for dogs! They dry quickly and have fewer nasty chemicals. I assume this means the finish isn’t as nice as in human nail polish, or else, why aren’t the people nail polishes less toxic too?? So I decided to buy a few and paint my doggies’ nails to match their harnesses. (I went for the Pawdicure brand. I’m such a consumerist pet owner sucker!) But it seems only fair to do a little pedicuring back!

I’ll put up some photos if it goes well. Harriett and Crackers had never had their nails trimmed before they were rescued, so they were so long their little toes were getting deformed, but we’ve been working them back. The vet says not to stress about it, as the next time they get their teeth done, he’ll cut them off close while they’re under anesthesia. So there is still plenty of nail to paint. I’m so amused. Dog nail polish!

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 responses »

    • I grind their nails down with a dremel tool instead of cutting them. Harriett tolerates it just fine, but Crackers thinks he might DIE so he wears a muzzle–he would never bite on purpose but sometimes when he gets super scared his teeth start running the show. But he’d totally let me paint his nails. We practice touching feet, gently pulling ears and tail, and general tolerance of being messed with daily. He gets his teeth brushed every couple days too, and he was an angel about it yesterday. Harriett hides when it’s toothbrush time. But they both are pretty much like “whatever, weirdo” when I want to hang on to an ear or a foot for a little while. =-)

      • ahaha i love the names! the sound really cute! my dog is not at all an easy going dog, not real friendly either. he doesn’t handle nail clipping at all he’ll even bite through a muzzle that’s thanks to a vet who traumatized him as a pup with his first nail clip…but that aside no matter how much work i do with him, ain’t no one ever touching his back paws without getting hurt.
        i think every dog has an area they don’t like to be touched.
        ours is a very ornery dog true to his breed…wiener dog. Lowryder. You know that breed is number three on the top most vicious dog list above pitbulls?
        He has injured my Hubby more than once with biting. we can’t allow him near kids or puppies and the weird thing is he grew up around both…he was totally socialized. around 3.5 years, he suddenly turned..

        • Yeah, they have to be actively socialized TWICE to get it completely perfect. Once as puppies, but again as adolescents, or they slowly lose their socialization. I adopted mine after they’d been screwed up by someone else (so I don’t have to take any of the blame for their bad behavior, just their good changes, haha) but Crackers is one of those fixable problem dogs; he’s anxious and messed up right now, but the prozac is helping and he’s capable of learning. If only I had the energy and the friends with dogs to help me teach him! But it will be easier to do that once we move–people just don’t care about dogs the same way here as they do on the mainland.

          Have you tried positive reinforcement training with him? Where you get closer and closer to the problem area and reward with a treat every time? It takes a very long time but it tends to work pretty well. It has to be a really awesome treat to be worth it to a dog that is that protective of the back feet.

          I think pits are sweet–there are a ton of the around here–but I had no idea dashounds were considered biters. Mine are American Hairless Terriers and they are a lot of help to me with my disability–they make me walk and cheer me up. Your cranky guy is so lucky he has owners who will keep him and take care of him even though he bites–so many of those dogs just get dumped and end up put to sleep because who wants to adopt a problem dog, right? So good on you for keeping him!!

          • Awww thank you! i have done some of the positive reinforcement training, i’ve gotten to the point with him where he will let me touch his back paws gently a couple times in a row…then he gets lots of scratches and praise.
            Pits are cute dogs!
            I’m sorry your dogs were abused before you but i’m so glad they found you and you them! you too are such a gift to them and i know they know it.
            that’s amazing they can put dogs on prozac? i didn’t know that, glad it’s helping to calm him/her.
            It does take a lot of hard work and energy to work with dogs period let alone troubled ones.
            do they sense when you’re having a rougher day than usual?
            mine seems clueless…lol but he’s probably not.
            how are you doing today btw?

  1. Pingback: Pawdicures! « Attempting Perfection

Leave a Reply

