Just One Pose, Every Day

Standard
English: Child's Pose (relaxation) Български: ...

English: Child’s Pose (relaxation) Български: Баласана/Детска поза (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This was my most recent yoga therapy homework: I am to get on the mat and do child’s pose every day. What comes after that is up to me. I HAVE to give myself permission to stop after one pose. Why? Because otherwise I won’t get on the mat. If I have energy for more, great! If I don’t, congratulations me, I’ve done my yoga practice for the day.

I thought this was a perfect, brilliant assignment. Just what I needed to start forming that habit of daily practice. I thought my reason for not being on my mat once a day was that I was being too hard on myself. If I was going to get on my mat, I needed to do my full yoga routine. And that seemed like way too much some days. Child’s pose, however–that I can do no matter how I feel.

It’s been a week and a half, and I’ve hit my daily goal about 50%. That’s kind of awful. I mean, how hard is it to do a restful, bolstered child’s pose every day. I may be hard on myself, but honestly, this shouldn’t be beyond me.

So what’s the problem? I’m not sure. I keep thinking of it, and putting it off, and then it’s late, and I’m tired, and I go to bed. It could be that, since this has been a particularly high-pain couple of weeks, I’ve been so absorbed in my distraction mechanisms I haven’t been able to pull myself into the moment and spend time with my pain. I’ve certainly watched more than my usual share of TV this last couple weeks.

I also have not felt much like taking care of myself lately. There really isn’t anything more important I need my energy for (how could there be?), but to be honest, it feels like a bit of a waste to spend it on myself when I’m in so much pain. That sounds really terrible, doesn’t it?

I don’t know exactly why this brilliant plan isn’t working. I’m clearly, despite logic, choosing not to participate half the time. I feel guilty about this, and yet I continue. I’m not miserable, even with the high pain, but I’m not doing everything I can to feel better, either. Why not?

Sounds like a question for my psych therapist, perhaps. Anybody reading ever go through this? What did you learn about yourself and how did you find your motivation?

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 responses »

  1. I have always found this to be my “go to” position for relief… though now the hip flexion is more painful… still very restorative… Used to sleep like this!! ~ Do hope you can find some comfort here too… it’s worth the discipline I think ~ Take good care of you! 🙂

  2. I’ve been thinking about what you wrote here. When I think about stuff I don’t feel like doing it is usually the first one that it the hardest. The first dirty dish. The first unwashed window. The first step on the jog out the driveway. The first minute on the exercise bike. For me its the impetus of doing that is the hardest. So in a way you are halfway there in that the first step involves the thought of doing it! You are thinking about it, your determination will help you succeed.

    • I hope I find a way to do a little better than 50%, but my sweetie says that all I need to do this week is keep tapering off that morphine and be nice to myself, so I’m trying not to be so hard on myself for not getting on the mat as often as I wish I would…I’m doing something even harder than that every day right now =-)

  3. I love Yoga, but I haven’t very discipline with it. I do it one day, and then I forget the following day. I think what I need to have is consistency. I guess Jim Rohn was right, ‘Motivation is what makes you do something, habit is what gets you going’. I have the motivation, but poor habit.

    Should do better apparently.

    Subhan Zein

Leave a Reply

